THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

JSW Youth Cup to return for U15 Academy teams, in Bellary

Bengaluru FC U-15 midfielder Basudev CM in training. (Photo courtesy: Bengaluru FC)
Bengaluru FC U-15 midfielder Basudev CM in training. (Photo courtesy: Bengaluru FC)

Bengaluru FC, on Monday, announced that the JSW Youth Cup would take place for a third time, this one for U15 Academy Teams, and is set to begin at the JSW Township, in Bellary, on May 4th.

In addition to the Young Blues, teams from RoundGlass Punjab FC, Sports Odisha FC, FC Goa and Reliance Foundation Young Champs are set to take part in the competition, scheduled to play out in a League-cum-knockout format.

“Our U15 squad took part in the KSFA ‘C’ Division League last month and that allowed us to test ourselves against teams from across Karnataka. The JSW Youth Cup will help us assess ourselves against some of the best Academy teams in the country and give our players a better idea of where they stand among players their age,” said BFC U15s Head Coach, Rajan Mani.

The League stage of the tournament will see the Academy sides play each other once, with teams finishing in the top four facing each other in a single-legged semifinal before battling it out in the final.

Matches at the U15 JSW Youth Cup will be 90 minutes long, with an interval of 15 minutes. Games are scheduled to take place at the JSW Vidyanagar Township Football Ground, with Bengaluru FC’s U15s set to face FC Goa in the opening encounter, on Wednesday, 4th May 2022, at 8 am.

Bengaluru FC U15 squad

Nairengbam Rohen Singh, Athul Raj CV

Parth Salunke, Rayuel Beale, Ashik Adhikari, Oinam Ronex Meitei, Sanjembam Tomthinganba Meetei, Shreyaj Manchoji

Nitish J, Aarav Gharat, Bankit Lyngkor, Puinachandra Kangjam, Cyrus Abhilash, Basudev CM, Vanlaltlepuia

Ryan Gibbs, Sparsh Desai, Ningthoujam Newton Singh, Mohammed Zahan, Lalpekhlua

Rajan Mani (Head Coach)

(Bengaluru FC)