THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Manuel Neuer named 2013 World Goalkeeper of the Year

Manuel Neuer

Manuel Neuer

Bayern Munich and Germany goalkeeper Manuel Neuer has won the 2013 World Goalkeeper of the Year award on Tuesday.

The 27 year old keeper beat Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus & Italy) and Petr Cech (Chelsea FC & Czech Republic) to win the award.

The annual award is given away by the International Football Federation of History & Statistics (IFFHS), an organization that chronicles the history and records of football. Journalists and football experts from 70 countries casted their votes in this year’s edition of the award.

Neuer is the third German keeper to win the prestigious award since its introduction in 1987. Legendary Bayern & Germany keeper Oliver Kahn won the award in 1999, 2000 and 2002, while Andreas Köpke claimed the trophy after winning the UEFA EURO with the German national team in 1996.

2013 World Goalkeeper of the Year – Top 5
1. Manuel Neuer (FC Bayern Munich) – 211 points
2. Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus FC Torino) – 78 points
3. Petr Cech (Chelsea FC) – 64 points
4. Thibaut Courtois (Club Atlético de Madrid) – 54 points
5. Victore Valdes (FC Barcelona) – 53 points