THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Mumbai City FC suffer a 0-2 defeat at home against NorthEast United

Mumbai City FC v NorthEast United FC

Mumbai City FC v NorthEast United FC

Mumbai City FC suffered a 0-2 deeat against NorthEast United FC in a Hero Indian Super League (ISL) encounter at the D.Y. Patil Stadium on Friday.

Both sides had their attempts on target during the first half, but they had to settle for a 0-0 draw at half-time. NorthEast United finally broke the deadlock in the second half as Kondwani Mtonga and Guilherme Felipe de Castro found the back of the net.

Mtonga opened the score sheet with a fine chip over Mumbai City goalkeeper Subrata Pal to give the visitors the lead. Mumbai tried hard to score the equaliser, but Peter Reid’s side not luck to their favour today.

Mumbai City star Freddie Ljungberg had to leave the pitch due to an injury in the 73rd minute and the hosts were forced to play with ten men because they had already made three substitutions.

Mumbai’s missery continued a few moment later as Pavel Cmovs was sent off just to see NorthEast United taking advantage in the dying moments of the match, when Guilherme Felipe de Castro sealed their 2-0 away win.

2014 Hero Indian Super League
at D.Y. Patil Stadium, Mumbai


0-1 Kondwani Mtonga (57′)
0-2 Guilherme Felipe de Castro (90’+2′)


Mumbai City FC
1 Subrata Pal – 16 Peter Costa, 27 Pavel Cmovs, 5 Manuel Friedrich [C], 4 Tiago Ribeiro (64′ 17 Deepak Kumar Mondal) – 2 Johan Letzelter (46′ 8 Freddie Ljungberg), 6 Jan Stohanzl – 14 Nadong Bhutia (72′ 10 Diego Fernando Nadaya), 21 André Francisco Moritz, 20 Lalrindika Ralte – 12 Singam Subash Singh

Unused Subs
31 Ishan Debnath, 41 André Preto – 3 Raju Eknath Gaikwad, 13 Ram Malik, 15 Asif Kottayil, 18 Sushil Kumar Singh, 23 Lalrinfela, 26 Ilias Pollais

NorthEast United FC
13 Rehnesh Thumbirumbu Paramba – 2 Aiborlang Khongjee, 15 Miguel García [C], 11 Joan Capdevila, 16 Robin Gurung – 6 Isaac Chansa (12′ 19 Guilherme Felipe de Castro), 4 Kondwani Mtonga – 7 Dong Hyun Do, 10 Koke (70′ 9 James Keene), 17 Zohmingliana Ralte (61′ 23 Semilen Doungel) – 25 Durga Boro

Unused Subs
1 Alexandros Tzorvas – 3 Tomas Josl, 5 Massamba Sambou, 8 Luis Alfredo Yanes Padilla, 14 Leo Bertos, 20 Milan Singh, 22 Boithang Haokip, 26 David Ngaihte



Assistant Referees
…, …

Fourth Official


Yellow Cards
45’+2′ Johan Letzelter (Mumbai City FC)
52′ Pavel Cmovs (Mumbai City FC)

Yellow-Red Cards
75′ Pavel Cmovs (Mumbai City FC)

Red Cards