THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

John Johnson named Players’ Player at Bengaluru FC Awards Night

Bengaluru FC Awards Night 2016

Bengaluru FC defender John Johnson was named the Players’ Player of the Season while skipper Sunil Chhetri finished top scorer for the third year running as the club recognized and rewarded top performers at the annual awards night ceremony, in Bengaluru, on Friday.

Defender Rino Anto was named the Fan’s Player of the Year, U22 midfielder Malsawmzuala picked up the Young Player award while Eugeneson Lyngdoh bagged the Goal of the Season accolade for his spectacular header against East Bengal FC.

Rino garnered an excess of 4,500 votes on the club’s online poll that let fans make their choice to collect the Fans’ Player of The Season accolade while teammates backed John Johnson’s performances to land him the Players’ Player of the Season award. “I wasn’t really expecting this but to be voted the best by your own teammates is special. I’m grateful for all their support and for the fact that they’ve thought I deserve this accolade,” said Johnson at the event.

Head Coach Ashley Westwood was full of praise for his Blues’ side that lifted the I-League title for a second time in three seasons and entered the last-8 of the AFC Cup with a 3-2 win over Kitchee SC in Hong Kong on Wednesday.

“It’s been a great season but to be honest we haven’t scored enough goals. There weren’t any great individual performances. Everybody chipped in with some good performances to get the job done. Credit goes to the players and the staff of this club which I’m positive, is in good hands and has a bright future ahead,” Westwood said at the event.

Entertainer Danish Sait and DJ Rohit Barker made for entertainment on a night where the Blues celebrated bringing the I-League title back to the city.

Bengaluru FC Awards Night | Award Winners
1. Players’ Player of the Season – John Johnson
2. Top Scorer of the Season – Sunil Chhetri
3. Fans’ Player of the Season – Rino Anto
4. Young Player of the Season – Malsawmzuala
5. Goal of the Season – Eugeneson Lyngdoh vs East Bengal FC

(Report & Photo courtesy Bengaluru FC Press Release)