THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Prime Minister Narendra Modi: Jeakson’s goal was the biggest reason for all of us to celebrate

The Prime Minister of India Shri Narendra Modi met the India U-17 national team at the Prime Minister’s Office in New Delhi today.

The India U-17 team who represented the nation in a FIFA World Cup for the first time in Indian sports history were invited by Honourable Prime Minister after they came back from Saudi Arabia following the AFC U-19 Championship Qualifiers.

Shri Narendra Modi said, “I personally requested for this meeting as I saw some spark in all of you. Based on your performance people have started knowing you so there is a huge responsibility on your shoulders.”

He further added that the boys must stay together as a team and in a few years time should establish themselves as professional players.

“Consider this U17WC as just a preparation for the future. I hope you stick together as a team and in 5-7 years time represent the country with great laurels”, he stated.

The sports-enthusiast personnel, who has mentioned the significance of sports umpteenth times in ‘Mann ki Baat’, expressed that “there is no life without sports”.

“There is no life without sports. Football is a very intense game. Hope you can inspire people to inculcate sports as part of their daily lives”, Shri Narendra Modi added.

Honourble Prime Minister who was present at the JLN Stadium in New Delhi during India’s FIFA U-17 World Cup 2017 opener against the USA on October 6, 2017, said that Jeakson’s goal against Colombia in their second match was the “biggest reason for all of us to celebrate”.

“When Jeakson scored the goal it gave the biggest reason for all of us to celebrate.”

The India U-17 team, along with India U-19 boys are now slated to ply their trade in the upcoming Hero I-League 2017-18.

Watch Jeakson Singh Thounaojam’s historic goal and enjoy the goose bumps…

(Report courtesy: AIFF Media / Photo courtesy: Press Information Bureau, Government of India)