THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

FIFA World Cup Russia 2018 Final Draw conducted in Moscow

FIFA World Cup Russia 2018

The FIFA World Cup Russia 2018 Final Draw Ceremony took place at the concert hall of the State Kremlin Palace in Moscow on Friday evening.

Former England star Gary Lineker and Russian presenter Maria Komandnaya hosted the ceremony, while eight legends of the past namely Laurent Blanc (France), Gordon Banks (England), Cafu (Brazil), Fabio Cannavaro (Italy), Diego Forlan (Uruguay), Diego Maradona (Argentina), Carles Puyol (Spain) and Nikita Simonyan (Russia) assisted during the draw proceedings.

The 32 qualified national teams were allocated to the four pots according to their FIFA World Ranking (October 2017) in descending order prior to the draw ceremony, while hosts Russia earned an automatic spot in Pot 1.

The Final Draw has produced eight interesting groups as Russia head Group A which does also feature Saudi Arabia, Egypt and Uruguay.

Reigning World Champions Germany will face Mexico, Sweden and Korea Republic in Group F in their quest to defend the title.

The opening match will be played between Russia and Saudi Arabia at the Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow on June 14, 2018.

FIFA World Cup Russia 2018 – The Groups

Group A
Russia, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Uruguay

Group B
Portugal, Spain, Morocco, Iran

Group C
France, Australia, Peru, Denmark

Group D
Argentina, Iceland, Croatia, Nigeria

Group E
Brazil, Switzerland, Costa Rica, Serbia

Group F
Germany, Mexico, Sweden, Korea Republic

Group G
Belgium, Panama, Tunisia, England

Group H
Poland, Senegal, Colombia, Japan