THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Representatives of the DFL look forward to UEFA EURO 2024 in Germany

Bid ambassador Philipp Lahm, DFB President Reinhart Grindel and UEFA President Aleksander Ceferin on stage following the announcement of Germany as the bid winners during the UEFA EURO 2024 host city announcement at the UEFA headquarters, The House of European Football on September 27, 2018 in Nyon, Switzerland. Photo by Harold Cunningham - UEFA/UEFA via Getty Images

Germany has won its bid to host UEFA EURO 2024. The UEFA Executive Committee announced this decision in Nyon, Switzerland, on Thursday afternoon. The German delegation, which included DFB President Reinhard Grindel, DFL President Dr Reinhard Rauball, national coach Joachim Löw and EURO-Ambassador Philipp Lahm, had previously made a convincing case to the UEFA.

DFL President Dr. Reinhard Rauball:
“Today is a good day for German football. We all still vividly remember the images and emotions of 2006, and are looking forward to host another major international football event in our own country. EURO 2024 will excite many people for our sport – in Germany and far beyond.”

DFL CEO Christian Seifert:
“We are delighted that the German football family will host EURO 2024. The clubs of the Bundesliga and Bundesliga 2, as well as the DFL, have supported this successful bid. With their excellent stadium infrastructure, the ten venues will provide a fantastic stage for the tournament.”

Germany last hosted a European Football Championship in 1988, when the Netherlands faced what was then the Soviet Union in Munich’s Olympic Stadium to take the title. Munich’s Allianz Arena will be one of the venues for UEFA EURO 2020, which will take place in various nations. EURO 2024 will be staged entirely in Germany; all ten stadiums are regular venues for Bundesliga and Bundesliga 2 matches. The host cities are Berlin, Hamburg, Munich, Cologne, Frankfurt, Stuttgart, Düsseldorf, Leipzig, Dortmund and Gelsenkirchen.

(DFL Deutsche Fußball Liga)