THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

VfL Wolfsburg win their fifth consecutive German Women Cup’s title

2019 DFB-Pokal der Frauen (German Women's Cup) winners VfL Wolfsburg. (© CPD Football)
2019 DFB-Pokal der Frauen (German Women's Cup) winners VfL Wolfsburg. © CPD Football

VfL Wolfsburg have won their sixth DFB-Pokal der Frauen (German Women’s Cup) title after a 1-0 win against SC Freiburg at the RheinEnergieSTADION in Cologne on Wednesday evening. It is the fifth consecutive cup title for one of the best Women’s football teams in the world.

The odds before the clash of the two Allianz Frauen-Bundesliga (Women’s Bundesliga) rivals were clearly in favour of Wolfsburg, as Freiburg made their maiden appearance in the cup final.

The first half developed into an entertaining end to end game, while Freiburg were denied a lead by Wolfsburg goalkeeper Almuth Schult. Anja Maike Hegenauer (9′), Klara Bühl (13′), Sharon Beck (26′) and Sandra Starke (40′) had the promising chances to open the score sheet for the underdogs.

Wolfsburg on the other hand had more possession to their name, but they didn’t challenge the opponents box as much as expected. Ewa Pajor’s spectacular scissor kick in the 42nd minute produced the most dangerous challenge for Freiburg goalkeeper Lena Nuding. But Nuding kept the clean sheet with a fine save to secure a 0-0 draw at half-time.

Wolfsburg increased the pressure in the second half and Freiburg had their difficulties to stand up to it. The defending champions finally broke the deadlock in the 55th minute, when a cross from Denmark international Pernille Harder found Pajor inside the box. The Polish striker made no mistake and slotted home from a short distance.

Freiburg were lucky not to concede more goals as the game reached its final stages as Wolfsburg showcased their class.

The final in front of 17,048 fans ended in a 1-0 win for the “Wolves”. German President Frank-Walter Steinmeier handed over the trophy to Wolfsburg’s captain Nilla Fischer during the winners ceremony.


VfL Wolfsburg
Schult – Blässe, Fischer, Goeßling, Peter – Hansen, Gunnarsdottir, Popp, Jakabfi (72′ Wolter) – Harder, Pajor (90′ Masar)

SC Freiburg
Nuding – Gwinn, van Lunteren, Kirchberger, Stegemann – Minge, Schöne (63′ Knaak) – Hegenauer (72′ Lotzen), Beck, Starke – Bühl

Photos & Videos

Please visit my social media pages/accounts on Facebook, Instagram @cpdfootball and Twitter @cpdfootball for pictures and videos from the final. More content will be posted in the coming days.