THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Australia’s Hyundai A-League 2019-20 season to restart this Friday

Hyundai A-League

Football Federation Australia (FFA) have confirmed that the remainder of the Hyundai A-League 2019-20 season will commence this Friday, July 17. The remainder of the 2019-20 season will now see the 27 matches played over 34 days. The Hyundai A-League 2020 Finals Series has been moved back a week and the Grand Final will now be scheduled for Sunday, August 30.

“We have faced many challenges over the past week since we released the original match schedule and it will need a few tweaks to reschedule the Melbourne teams considering their relocation to Sydney,” said FFA’s Head of Leagues Greg O’Rourke in an official release. “Under the conditions of the exemption from the NSW Government, Melbourne City FC, Melbourne Victory and Western United FC will undergo a 14-day quarantine period before being able to re-join the competition which has meant we have had to update our match schedule accordingly.”

“The revised Hyundai A-League regular season schedule will recommence on Friday 17 July with Sydney FC facing Wellington Phoenix at Netstrata Jubilee Stadium and will be open for a limited number of members and fans to attend.”

“Over the coming days, we will be announcing which other matches will be open for fans to physically attend, but of course you will be able to watch the matches on FOX SPORTS, SKY Sport (NZ), ABC TV, Kayo Sports and the MyFootball Live App. We are now focused on finishing what we started,” O’Rourke added.

The matches will be played at six venues:
ANZ Stadium (NSW), Bankwest Stadium (NSW), CBUS Stadium (QLD), Central Coast Stadium (NSW), McDonald Jones Stadium (NSW) and Netstrata Jubilee Stadium (NSW)

Please click here to view the fixtures for the remainder of the Hyundai A-League 2019-20 season.