THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Bayern Munich swoop the Telekom Cup 2013

Telekom Cup 2013

UEFA Champions League winners FC Bayern Munich have won the Telekom Cup 2013 on Sunday.

The Telekom Cup, a pre-season tournament, was hosted at the Borussia-Park in Moenchengladbach this year with with four teams namely Borussia Dortmund, Borussia Moenchengladbach, FC Bayern Munich and Hamburger SV. All the matches had a duration of 60 minutes (2 x 30 minutes), while a draw automatically set-up a penalty shoot-out.

Bayern advanced to the final with an impressive 4-0 win against Hamburg [+ match report] on Saturday to face Moenchengladbach in the final. Moenchengladbach won their semifinal match against Borussia Dortmund 1-0 and the hopes were high to tackle the European champions at their own backyard.

But Pep Guardiola’s team proved to be too strong for Moenchengladbach in the final. Bayern opened the score sheet in the 17th minute when Arjen Robben delivered a perfectly timed 30 metre chip into the box which Franck Ribéry volleyed home past keeper Christofer Heimeroth.

Philipp Lahm increased the lead with a right-footed shot from outside the box, while Thiago Alcántara scored his first goal his new club in the 26th minute.

Diego Contento gave away a penalty second before the half-time whistle, when he brought down Patrick Herrmann in the box. Luke de Jong scored from the spot to give the Moenchengladbach fans some new hope.

But Bayern continued their scoring mood and Arjen Robben headed home from a Ribéry to make it 4-1. Thomas Müller added a fifth goal to hand Bayern a 5-1 win.

Guardiola used the match to test his players in various new positions with the first highlight of the season set to take place next weekend when Bayern take on Borussia Dortmund in the German Supercup (DFL Supercup).

The German Bundesliga will kick-off on August 9 as FC Bayern Munich host Borussia Moenchengladbach in the opening match at the Allianz Arena.


0-1 Franck Ribéry (17′)
0-2 Philipp Lahm (23′)
0-3 Thiago Alcántara (26′)
1-3 Luke de Jong (30′)
1-4 Arjen Robben (41′)
1-5 Thomas Müller (60′)


Borussia Moenchengladbach
Heimeroth – Jantschke, Nordtveit, Alvaro Dominguez, Wendt – Dahoud, Xhaka (31′ Kramer) – Herrmann, Arango – de Jong – Hrgota

Unused Subs
Blaswich, Brouwers, Daems, Stranzl, Brandenburger, Korb, Raffael, Rupp, Younes, Kruse, Mlapa

FC Bayern Munich
Starke – Rafinha, van Buyten (50′ Kirchhoff), Boateng, Contento (31′ Alaba) – Thiago (50′ Shaqiri) – Robben, Lahm (50′ Weihrauch), Kroos (51′ Weiser), Ribery – Müller

Unused Subs
Neuer, Dante, Green, Hojbjerg, Luiz Gustavo, Mandzukic, Pizarro


Yellow Cards
29′ Contento (FC Bayern Munich)
58′ Kramer (Borussia Moenchengladbach)