THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

FC Bayern Munich win the Telekom Cup 2014

FC Bayern Munich win the Telekom Cup 2014

FC Bayern Munich win the Telekom Cup 2014

Bundesliga champions FC Bayern Munich have started off the 2014-15 campaign with the win of the Telekom Cup 2014 on Sunday.

Bayern advanced to the final at the Imtech Arena in Hamburg with a 5-4 win on penalties against Borussia Moenchengladbach yesterday, while fellow finalists VfL Wolfsburg went past hosts Hamburger SV 6-5 on penalties.

Bayern Munich missed the services of all their 2014 FIFA World Cup participants, but they had no difficulties to put a decent performance in the four team tournament.

Poland striker Robert Lewandowski put Bayern in the lead just four minutes into the final, when he headed home a well-timed cross by Franck Ribéry. Sebastian Rode increased the lead in the 15th minute, while Lewandowski scored his second goal of the day in the 20th minute to hand Bayern a comfortable 3-0 lead at half-time.

Bayern didn’t give away the match in the second half and registered a 3-0 win to claim their second Telekom Cup trophy.

Meanwhile, Hamburger SV won the 3rd Place Match against Borussia Moenchengladbach 3-1 courtesy to goals by Jacques Zoua (3′), Rafael van der Vaart (21′) and Kerem Demirbay (53′). Raffael (4′) scored the lone goal for Moenchengladbach.