THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Fikru and Podany do the trick for Atlético de Kolkata

NorthEast United FC v Atlético de Kolkata

NorthEast United FC v Atlético de Kolkata

NorthEast United FC played host to Atlético de Kolkata in the first match of Round 2 in the Hero Indian Super League (ISL) at the Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium, Guwahati today.

Atlético de Kolkata took the lead in the 15th minute after Luis García failed to slot home just a few minutes earlier. García set-up Fikru Teferra Lemessa in the box with a fine chipped pass and the Ethiopian striker kept calm and put the ball into the net leaving no chance to NorthEast United FC goalkeeper Alexandros Tzorvas.

The visitors from Kolkata continued to dominate the game although they were not able to increase their lead against NorthEast United.

NorthEast United were denied a goal in the second half, when referee Tejas Nagvekar correctly recognised an offside position and put the cheers of the home crowd to an end.

NorthEast United head coach Ricki Herbert made changes to his line-up in the second half, but the substitutes didn’t produce the result the home side and their fans were hoping for.

Atlético’s Borja Fernandez was given the marching order in the 84th minute for his second yellow card of the match. Borja is the first player to receive a sent off in this inaugural Hero Indian Super League season.

Substitute Jakub Podany sealed the win for Atlético with an injury time goal after the NorthEast United defence gave away the ball in the own half.

Atlético de Kolkata won the match 2-0 to take the lead in the table of the Hero Indian Super League with six points out of two matches.

2014 Hero Indian Super League
at Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium, Guwahati


0-1 Fikru Teferra Lemessa (15′)
0-2 Jakub Podany (90’+2′)


NorthEast United FC
1 Alexandros Tzorvas – 22 Boithang Haokip, 4 Kondwani Mtonga, 11 Joan Capdevila [C], 2 Aiborlang Khongjee – 20 Milan Singh –  6 Isaac Chansa (61′ 3 Tomas Josl), 10 Koke (63′ 7 Dong Hyun Do), 17 Zohmingliana Ralte – 25 Durga Boro, 9 James Keene (73′ 14 Leo Bertos)

Unused Subs
13 Rehenesh – 5 Massamba Sambou, 8 Luis Yanes, 19 Felipe, 23 Semilen Doungel, 24 Alen Deory, 26 David Ngaihte

Atlético de Kolkata
1 Subhasish Roy Chowdhury – 12 Denzil Franco, 17 Josemi, 5 Arnab Mondal, 2 Biswajit Saha – 8 Borja Fernandez, 23 Ofentse Nato, 11 Jofre Mateu (72′ 21 Jakub Podany) – 10 Luis García [C] (76′ 24 Arnal Llibert), 9 Fikru Teferra Lemessa, 6 Baljit Singh Sahni (90′ 15 Sanju Pradhan)

Unused Subs
25 Apoula Edel – 4 Kingshuk Debnath, 14 Mohammed Rafi, 26 Sylvain Monsoreau


Tejas Nagvekar (India)

Assistant Referees
…, …

Fourth Official


Yellow Cards
54′ Borja Fernandez (Atlético de Kolkata)

Yellow-Red Cards
84′ Borja Fernandez (Atlético de Kolkata)

Red Cards


Fikru Teferra Lemessa (Atlético de Kolkata)