THE BLOG BY CPD FOOTBALL | The World of Indian football and beyond by Chris Punnakkattu Daniel

Elano levels Luis García's goal for a late draw at Chennai

Chennaiyin FC v Atlético de Kolkata

Chennaiyin FC v Atlético de Kolkata

Chennaiyin FC played host to Atlético de Kolkata in a Hero Indian Super League (ISL)  game at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Chennai today.

Chennaiyin FC looked the better side at the beginning as they produced various promising attempts on the Atlético goal. But Atlético’s marquee player Luis García put the visitors in the lead against the run of play as the Spaniard converted a spot kick in the 35th minute. Chennaiyin FC goalkeeper Shilton Paul fouled on-rushing Mohammed Rafi to give away the penalty and he was consequently sent off by referee Tejas Nagvenkar.

Substitute Balwant Singh had the best chance to equalise for the hosts as his attempt was denied by the woodwork. Chennaiyin FC changed their tactics in the latter stages of the second half with three strikers up front trying their best to find the back of the net.

It looked like Atlético would secure an away win, but late drama gave the match a new twist at the Jawaharalal Nehru Stadium. Kingshuk Debnath brought down John Stiven Mendoza in the box to give away a penalty to the home side in the dying moments of the game. Brazilian star Elano hit the target to secure Chennaiyin FC a 1-1 draw against Atlético de Kolkata.

2014 Hero Indian Super League
at Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Chennai


1-0 Luis García (35′)
1-1 Elano (90’+3′)


Chennaiyin FC
22 Shilton Paul – 19 Gouramangi Moirangthem Singh, 27 Mikaël Silvestre, 5 Bernard Mendy, 25 Dhanachandra Singh – 23 Marco Materazzi (76′ 12 Jeje Lalpekhlua) – 18 Harmanjot Singh Khabra, 13 Denson Devadas (83′ 17 Balwant Singh) – 7 Elano [C] – 14 John Stiven Mendoza, 29 Jean-Eudes Maurice (34′ 1 Gennaro Bracigliano)

Unused Subs
3 Sukhwinder Singh, 4 Khelemba Singh, 8 Cristian Hidalgo, 10 Bojan Djordjic, 20 Bruno Pelissari

Atlético de Kolkata
25 Apoula Edel – 4 Kingshuk Debnath, 5 Arnab Mondal, 17 Josemi, 2 Biswajit Saha – 8 Borja Fernández, 23 Ofentse Nato – 6 Baljit Singh Sahni (89′ 20 Rakesh Masih), 10 Luis García [C] (80′ 24 Arnal Llibert), 11 Jofre Mateu – 14 Mohammed Rafi (69′ 15 Sanju Pradhan)

Unused Subs
1 Subhasish Roy Chowdhury – 7 Cavin Lobo, 22 Lester Fernandez, 26 Sylvain Monsoreau


Tejas Nagvenkar (India)

Assistant Referees
…, …

Fourth Official


Yellow Cards
28′ Jofre Mateu (Atlético de Kolkata)
43′ Arnab Mondal (Atlético de Kolkata)
53′ Josemi (Atlético de Kolkata)
56′ Ofentse Nato (Atlético de Kolkata)
90’+1′ Kingshuk Debnath (Atlético de Kolkata)

Yellow-Red Cards
47′ Jofre Mateu (Atlético de Kolkata)

Red Cards
33′ Shilton Paul (Chennaiyin FC)


Luis García (Atlético de Kolkata)